A finished quilt and my first venture into free motion quilting

With a tear in my eye my baby (18 months) went into daycare for the first time today, he was alright but me not so much.  On the bright side it gave me time to bind my quilt for my friend Emma’s new baby Finlay.  He is a tiny wee thing born on Christmas Eve and I’m going to get another cuddle from him this afternoon, I will be glad to take his present to him this time, better late than never. I had planned on doing craftsy’s BOM 2013 this year so when I found out the baby was going to be a boy I decided to use the robot factory fabric to make it suitable for a wee boy.  I loved the class and learnt a fair bit too and I’m really chuffed with the result, especially my wee applique robot that I pulled together myself from one of our colouring in books, the craftsy basket of flowers wasn’t going to quite cut it for the wee man.

Baby Finlay's quilt with help from my handsome assistant

Baby Finlay’s quilt with help from my handsome assistant

image

My wee robot

image

My first attempt at fmq

image

I even signed it lisa xx

Here is where I stick out my chest and say I quilted it myself, feeling a wee bit smug 🙂 I over thought the whole FMQ thing and read every tutorial I could find on the internet and got terrified it all just seemed too hard and too complicated.  So I took the two main bits of advise that stuck in my head which were to forget the unpicker and have a glass of wine. Best advise ever.  I loved it.  It’s actually quite liberating its a bit like doodling on you school books when you were at high school.  As this was a sampler quilt I took the chance to quilt every block differently, some I love some not so much.  Thery are all pretty messy and there are some little spider legs on the back in areas but I really enjoyed the process and by the end of the quilt I was getting better at it already

linking up to TGIFF at Quilt Matters

2 thoughts on “A finished quilt and my first venture into free motion quilting

  1. What a TOTALLY FUN quilt! I really love the theme of the sampler, the fabrics, and that you stepped into free motion quilting for yourself! It just gets easier and easier as you do it. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

